Culture Jam

mcdonalds-print-ad-englishmonkey headnike-logo-wallpaper-just-do-it-152-1024x663Snow_White_the_Witch_and_the_applebig_1409082140_1382452939_imagegirl

The New Killer Dark Tanning Oil culture jam is the one I am critiquing.

a). There were multiple photoshop techniques used in this work. I used the warp tool, eraser, cloning tool, text, and the magic wand as some of them. I watched tutorials on how to manipulate use the cloning tool and how to manipulate text. This was probably my best culture jam, because it had the most meaning behind it. The craftsmanship behind this I feel was done well.

b). For this piece I started out with the main image, which would be everything except for the skeleton. I worked out what I need to do with that by rewarding and adjusting all the text. Then I took the skeleton image and put it on top of the first. That took a lot of warping the image and blurring it to make it blend with the original. I also painted around a little to distinguish the girl more.

c). The main concept of the idea was to address that tanning is bad for your skin. The guys in the picture are still happy and intrigued by what they see now, but what they don’t see is how it will hurt that person in the long run. This is why nothing shows on the outside of her body and only the skeleton on the inside. Right now there are no effects but maybe a sunburn, but that will definitly change in the future. This is where I got the title form because this could result in a deathly disease later on.

d). I feel the space in this picture is used well, there is not too much to where the reader is overwhelmed but yet enough to get the point across. The color scheme is kinda dull there is a bright aspect to it, but that wasn’t the point of it. The texture isn’t very sharp the original image was not the best quality. I did my best throughout the rest of the image to match the quality of the original image. Those were the main visual elements I saw in this piece of work.

e). I feel what I could have done more of to make this more successful was done more to show the effects of tanning. All I show now is the skeleton and I feel like I could have done more besides that to really portray that theme. Another thing I felt like I could have done was create something to go in the bottom right corner. That part I left the same and I think it might take away from the piece. Also I feel that the skeleton could have been intigrated a little better.

f). Additional research I did was watch videos to better understand what I was doing for each piece. Also if it involved a movie I watched that part of the movie to see if I could take the text actually said and just change it to fit my piece better.

Leave a comment