Audio Song Project

Both my 1st and final drafts of my audio piece can be found on my SoundCloud-

 

 

Before the Critique:

Concept:

 

  1. Synopsis> In at least 100 words/four or more sentences, what is your work about/dealing with/trying to say or do? Explain the content/narrative/idea.

 

I was trying to go for a very motivational, pick me up song for this audio piece. So I looked for speeches that were based on believing in yourself and not giving up. I wanted there to be more than just one voice to it to show that there are many people out there that believe in you and I felt that having those multiple

Voices really gave off the idea of power and that’s what it need to be motivational to people. I felt like having a lot going on and really building up the song along the way gives the viewers a chance to feel the strength in the speeches.

 

GarageBand Essentials:

 

  1. Briefly, how did you use/apply a software instrument* (*required) and an audio sound you recorded yourself* (*required) in your work? And to what end/effect?

 

For this I actually used my own voice in the piece, I recorded myself saying a speech and then added effects to it so you would not be able to tell it was me.

 

  1. Where and how (and to what effect conceptually or formally) did you apply plug in’s/effect filters? How did you manipulate or change loops/sounds? Choose 2-3 to discuss.

 

I applied an effect/plug in to some of my main beats in the background like the MistyAll and the Default for each of them I added a plug in that made them blend together more, because they were not that similar in the ways I wanted them to be without the effects. I tried to go with effects that made these two mush together better.

 

 

 

 

Audio Form:

 

  1. What audio structure/outline/layout did you use? Or better, how did you construct/compose all the parts of your audio? Remember “Pop music” formulas?

 

I did a build up overtime, so it starts up slower and eventually speeds up and then just breaks off at the end. I was trying to go for a powerful ending.

 

  1. Briefly, how did you try to create/apply audio “space.” Yes, this can be interpreted as creating a 3-dimensional space. Ex. How sound space is used in a movie theater.

 

I tried to make some parts louder at some point and then quieter in others si the music wasn’t coming at you at all times all at once, I feel like the created the space the viewer needed to breath.

 

  1. Briefly, where/how did you apply/use The Holy Trinity (apply “other” religions if needed**) of Audio; 1. high end, 2. mid range and 3. low end/bass sounds and audio 4. textures?

 

For the high end I used an upbeat piano that you pretty much hear throughout the entire thing, mid range I used beats like maracas and a tambourine to give the song a steady beat, and for the low end I used things like a rumble beat, and misty all.

 

After the Critique:

Critical Thoughts:

 

  1. Briefly discuss the successful elements of your work (both in form and content). What parts are working well? (You can base these thoughts on the feedback received at the critique)

 

I think my overall idea and concept of the piece worked well, and the idea of having more than just one speech in it.

 

  1. Briefly discuss the elements that could be better in your work. List the things you need to improve/fix/change/work on to improve the work? (You can base these thoughts on the feedback received at the critique)

 

I could have done better with my sound the voices sounded muffled and were hard to understand so I needed to o back through and make them more clear. Which I think I did by not having multiple different voices talk at once anymore I zoned them in and out at different times. I also had little music to it which I went back and added more sounds and beats to the song which hopefully makes it sound better.

 

  1. Bonus points!> Discuss any additional research you did beyond the classroom. Provide us links if possible and a very brief response to each.

 

http://thegaragebandguide.com/how-to-mix-vocals-in-garageband-part-1 I really liked this guide because it helped me better understand how to use compressors and make the voices sound better.

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ELs6PfVn0zo I also used this video because tis reminders of what we talked about in class so it was nice to be able to go back and listen on how to do things again.

 

Leave a comment